In December 1911 in the town of Urga (now Ulan Bator) proclaimed the independence of Mongolia.

November 26, 1924 Parliament (Great People’s Hural – VNH) proclaimed the establishment of the Mongolian People’s Republic (MPR), and adopted the first constitution. Up until 1990, Mongolia was a socialist country with a ruling party – the Mongolian People’s Revolutionary Party.

November 21, 1991 Great People’s Hural decided to change the name of the country and after the entry into force of the new constitution (12 February 1992) it became known as the Mongolia Mongolia.

Mongolia – a parliamentary government with the local government.

In Mongolia autonomous territories is unacceptable degree.

The Constitution adopted in 1992. It guarantees the basic rights of citizens of Mongolia, including freedom of expression and political opinion. Under the Constitution, the head of state is the president, and the supreme legislative body – a unicameral State Great Khural.
President of Mongolia

The President is head of state and supreme commander of the armed forces. The president is elected for a four-year term by popular vote. President of Mongolia may be a citizen of Mongolia who has attained the age of 45 years, permanently residing at home the past five years. The President may be re-elected for another term. In the absence of the President as head of state takes the chairman of the State Great Hural.

President of Mongolia – Tsakhiagiin Elbegdorj.
State Great Hural

Legislative power is exercised by parliament – the State Great Hural (IOL) (Mong. Ulsyn Their Khural). Mongolian Parliament. The highest legislative body of the country consists of 76 members of the Constitution. The main form of activity – session that sit in the presence of at least 2/3 of all members of parliament.

Topping IOLs chairman, deputy chairman and secretary general, elected by secret ballot of its membership. Parliament forms the highest executive power in Mongolia – the government headed by the Prime Minister.

State Great Hural, in cooperation with the government creates laws and make decisions about their entry into force. Political parties represented in the parliament nominates candidates for direct presidential elections. Hural approves the candidacy of the Prime Minister (proposed by the president), and the other ministers. State Great Hural has the right to overcome the presidential veto on the bill, which requires a 2/3 majority. The same number of votes required to change the constitution.

Each of the 76 members of parliament represents his constituency and is selected by a simple majority for a term of four years. Elections are considered valid only if 50% turnout. Mongolian citizens can vote from the age of 18 if you stay in the territory of Mongolia. Citizens can run for over 25 years.

Executive power is exercised by the government, formed by IOL on the proposal of the Prime Minister and agreed with the president. The candidacy of the head of the Cabinet of Ministers submits to the President of the IOL. Government accountable to IOLs.

Head of Government – Prime Minister appointed by the State Great Hural (Parliament of Mongolia). Prime Minister of Mongolia – Suhbaataryn Batbold appointed in 2009. Ministers are appointed by the State Great Hural individually.

Written by test

Leave a Reply